History of golf

Little-known facts about the oldest golf tournament in history (Part 2)

Golf course

From 1860 to 1870 it was held at the Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland. The Open was held in Scotland, northwest England, and southeast England with the same stadium in Northern Ireland.

In the current system of The Open, there are 10 courts: 5 Scotland, 4 England, and 1 Northern Ireland. Recently, Old Couse held Open every 5 years and the rest of the golf courses open more or less every 10 years.

In 2014, The R&A announced that Royal Portrush would return in October 2015 and that Portrush would be the host of The Open 2019.

Major milestones at The Open Championship

On 17/10/1860 the first match took place at Prestwick Golf Club – Scotland with 8 golfers competing in 3 rounds of 12 holes in a single day.

In 1971, the tournament was canceled due to the lack of prizes.

In 1892 the tournament increased from 36 holes to 72 holes or 4 rounds of 18 holes.

From 1890 – 1930, The Open was dominated by professional athletes, with only 6 amateurs taking the throne during this period.

In 1946 The Open welcomed the first American champion in post-World War II.

The champion of this tournament in 1947 was Fred Daly of Northern Ireland.

In 1948 – 1958 The Open was dominated by Commonwealth golfers, with golfers from Australia and South Africa winning eight championships.

1953 The Open held a competition at the American Carnoustie golfer won the championship that year.

1960 The start of the “Big Three” era in professional golf.

In 1966, 1970, and 1978, Golfer Nicklaus finished second seven times and had 16 top five at The Open.

Golfer John Daly won the championship in 1995.

In 2000 – 2005 Tiger Woods won 3 championships.

2006 Golfer Hoylake who holds the championship The Open

The 2007 – 2008 year

In 2013 golfer Phil Mickelson won the Open Championship for the first time at Muirfield.

In 2015 the match took place at Old Course at St Andrew’s golfer Zach Johnson won by the payoff

The 2018 Open Championship is the 147th tournament to be held at the Carnoustie Golf Links in Angus, Scotland. This is the 8th time that the Open Championship tournament has been played at Carnousetie.

In 2019 for the first time since 1951, The Open took place at Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland. The Open Championship is considered to be among the six most prestigious tournaments in the world.